Spyke

Syndicated from the fediverse. Read and engage on the original instance.

View original on lemmy.world
support·Lemmy.world Supportbytrymeout

If you delete a community, can a community with the same name be recreated again?

Lets say I made a community with the name ![email protected]. If I delete this community, could anyone else later on in the future recreate the community using the ![email protected] name on lemmy.world. Or is it once a community name that is taken, even if it is deleted will not longer be available?

View original on lemmy.world
21

3 replies

No the community can not be recreated when it is deleted. If there is demand they can pick it up with the instance administrators and the community could be purged which would make them available for recreation.

2
lemmy.world

Great question, I’m also interested in the answer to this. Otherwise, what stops a malicious actor from creating and deleting a bunch so they can never be used?

6

Not unless an admin purges it, I think. But you can always create it on another instance.

1

You reached the end

If you delete a community, can a community with the same name be recreated again? | Spyke